Tags

,

DSC02093

For my fortieth birthday my boyfriend surprised me with a visit. It was truly a surprise, as I wasn’t expecting him until the following Sunday.

We have been in a long distance relationship for almost two years now. It has been an amazing journey. It has been a tough journey… But I wouldn’t change a thing. We’ve learned so much from each other and we’ve come so far. And in spite of the miles between us, and having to wait months for a kiss, our love has been constant… HE has been constant.

He loves me. He makes me want to be a better person. He makes me feel alive. He makes me want to try and, in turn, succeed. He encourages me. He lifts me up. He is strong. He has heart. He has pride. He is funny and witty. He is kind, understanding, and loyal. He is a true friend. He is loving. He is generous. He is no-nonsense. He is tough and no pushover. He is passionate and tender. He is affectionate. He brings me joy and laughter. He is not afraid to share his hopes and fears with me. He trusts me with his whole being…. He trusts me with his heart. HE is the love of my life.

And so, on my fortieth birthday, in front of family and friends, he asked me to spend the rest of my life with him…

I said yes.

My heart is full.

20130828_190919

20130828_191416(0)

